How Do I Delete Instead Of Archive?

What is the difference between delete and archive in Outlook?

Whether you delete or archive an email message, it disappears from your inbox.

A deleted message goes into the trash folder, whereas an archived message is defaulted to the Archive folder or “All Mail” on Gmail / Google Apps.

Your Archive folder is never automatically emptied..

What is the purpose of archiving?

Data Archiving protects older data that is not needed for everyday operations of an organization that is no longer needed for everyday access. Data Archiving reduces primary storage required, and allows an organization to maintain data that may be required for regulatory or other requirements.

How do I delete emails quickly?

You can quickly delete multiple emails from a folder and still keep your unread or important emails for later. To select and delete consecutive emails, in the message list, click the first email, press and hold the Shift key, click the last email, and then press the Delete key.

How do I delete thousands of unread emails in Gmail?

Click Search.Use the master check box at the top of the page to select all the emails on that page.Now a new option is shown below that master check box: All 50 conversations on this page are selected. … Click the option to select all conversations found.Press/choose the Trash icon to delete.

How do I change from archive to delete?

Choose your archive or delete settingsOn your Android phone or tablet, open the Gmail app .In the top left, tap Menu .Tap Settings General settings. Gmail default action.Tap Archive or Delete. … Scroll down to the “Action confirmations” section and choose if you want confirmation before archiving or deleting messages.

Is archive the same as delete?

The Gmail app for Android gives its users two choices for discarding a new message: archive or delete. The Archive action removes the message from view in the inbox and puts it in the All Mail area, in case you ever need it again. You can find archived messages by using Gmail’s search function.

Does deleting emails on iPhone delete them on computer?

IMAP allows multiple devices to access the same mailbox simultaneously, and also tells the e-mail server whether a message has been read, saved or deleted. As a result, if you delete a message on your PC, it will automatically be deleted from your iPhone, and vice versa.

What is the point of archiving emails?

The point of archiving is to give you a central location to store mails that you no longer need direct access to. It also ensures your inbox is kept clean and attachments and other files are kept safe.

What is the easiest way to delete emails from Gmail?

Click “Delete” to move the selected emails to the Trash folder. To immediately delete these emails, click “Trash,” select the emails, and then click “Delete Forever.”

How do I delete thousands of emails at once?

Click SearchUse the master check box at the top of the page to select all the emails on that page.Now a new option is shown below that master check box: All 50 conversations on this page are selected. … Click the option to select all conversations found.Press/choose the Trash icon to delete.

Do archived messages take up space?

2 Answers. Yes, messages that are archived count towards your storage quota. … The only difference is that messages in the spam and trash will probably be permanently deleted within 30 days, which automatically frees up space in your account.

How do I mass delete emails?

Here’s what to do:Start With Gmail Open. Open your Gmail inbox. … Select the Gmail Messages You Want to Delete. Click the checkbox next to each message you want to delete, like this: … Undelete Mass Deleted Messages. Once in a while, you may change your mind about your bulk Gmail message deletion.

When you delete emails on iPhone do they come back?

Where does the deleted email appear? If it appears in the Deleted folder, it’s normal. That’s because your iPhone has its own copy of the email stored in your device storage. They reappear in the inbox.

Where do emails go when you archive them?

In the Gmail app for iPhone, iPad, or Android, tap the Archive button in the top menu that appears. The Archive button has the same design as the button shown on the Gmail website. Any email you archive will disappear from your main Gmail inbox, including from any of the focused categories you might have.

How do I change Swipe left to delete?

Go to the upper left hand side of the screen. There are 4 lines (menu) by the search bar, click on that. Go down to your settings. Once you go to your settings there is an option that says “Swipe actions” once you hit that you can switch the actions that occur when you either swipe right or swipe left.

How do you delete emails on iPhone not archive?

How to set Gmail to delete instead of archive in Mail on iPhone and iPadOpen Settings.Swipe down and tap Passwords & Accounts.Tap your Gmail account.Select Account.Tap Advanced.Now below Move Discarded Messages Into: tap Deleted Mailbox.

Why does iPhone archive email instead of delete?

Archiving email keeps the messages in an Archived folder, but Deleting moves them to the trash. … In iOS 7, to change it so that way the emails will delete, go into Settings, tap on Mail, Contacts & Calendars and tap on your Gmail account that is listed.

How do I change from Apple Mail to delete instead of archive?

Delete multiple email messagesOpen Mail and go to your Inbox.Tap Edit in the upper-right corner, then tap Select All. Or individually select the emails that you want to delete.Tap Trash or Archive. If you only see Archive, touch and hold Archive to see other options like Trash Selected Messages.